Which magnesium should I take? | Doctor’s Best Magnesium Review

Which magnesium should I take? | Doctor’s Best Magnesium Review

which magnesium should i take magnesium rich foods

Does Your Magnesium Supplement Upset Your Stomach?

Magnesium is an important mineral needed by your body, particularly if you have chronic fatigue syndrome.

clinical trial showed that chronic fatigue syndrome patients have lower red cell magnesium levels than healthy control subjects, making this an important supplement to take regularly.

Using magnesium for tight muscles, a common symptom of chronic fatigue syndrome is a good idea.

But if your current magnesium supplement upsets your stomach and you know you need to take a magnesium supplement, it could leave you wondering ‘which magnesium SHOULD I take’?

Even if you don’t suffer from chronic fatigue syndrome magnesium it is still an important supplement. Magnesium deficiency in general is common which is concerning because it has an important role in almost 600 enzymatic processes in the body.

Your body’s many systems need magnesium to work efficiently, and you might be eating a healthy diet but still not be getting enough of this important mineral.

What Does Magnesium Do?

  • It maintains a healthy heartbeat.
  • Helps muscles relax properly.
  • Supports optimum nerve function.
  • Helps cells produce metabolic energy.
  • Plays an important role as an essential mineral.
  • Provides muscle and tendon support.
  • Helps bones stay strong.
  • Supports a healthy immune system.

A far reaching mineral, magnesium is a component of the ocean, plants, earth and animals. In humans, around 60% of magnesium can be found in your bones with the remainder being located in soft tissues, muscles and blood.

All of your body cells need it in order to function properly but it is estimated that almost 50% of people in the U.S. may not be getting enough magnesium.

If you eat a balanced diet you would think you’d be getting enough magnesium, however magnesium in food sources is declining.

This is most likely due to poor farming practices like pesticide use and overuse of growing fields in an effort to increase yields. Unfortunately, this results in soil depletion of essential minerals.  However, eating organic food can help negate this effect.

Magnesium rich foods include:

which magnesium should i take magnesium rich foods

  • Leafy Green Vegetables – such as swiss chard and spinach
  • Nuts – cashews and almonds
  • Fish – such as halibut
  • Avocados
  • Beans

 

Which Form Of Magnesium Is Best To Take?

Cheap magnesium supplements may be produced from suspect forms of magnesium. Magnesium citrate or magnesium oxide are commonly used in lower cost supplements where the manufacturers are not focusing on maximum absorption.

Those less costly forms of magnesium are not easily absorbed by the body, so it is really false economy. Additionally, magnesium oxide can be very irritating to the digestive tract. You are throwing your hard-earned cash away if your body cannot readily use your chosen magnesium supplement.

Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium is produced in a chelated form, meaning the minerals it contains are bound to other molecules to form an easily absorbable mineral complex.

I tried a few magnesium supplements that either didn’t make much difference to my health or even worse gave me a badly upset stomach, then I tried this Doctor’s Best product.

This is the only one I can take in a fairly high dose to help with my muscle pains and tight tendons that doesn’t give me the runs.

 

Why I Take Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium

The main reason I started taking a magnesium supplement was to help relieve the pain from very tight muscles and tendons which was one of my more frustrating chronic fatigue syndrome symptoms.

I was then recommended this Doctor’s Best product and commenced taking  it every day, starting with a low dose and gradually increasing it as my confidence in the product grew.

If you have stomach issues with other magnesium supplements, you should give Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium a try.

Some practitioners say it is best to take magnesium at night. I take 600mg in the evening around 8pm which has the additional effect of relaxing me and helping me get a good solid night’s sleep.

What Are The Pros Of Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium?

People who take magnesium supplements claim to have improved energy levels, a better emotional state and less pain. Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium offers the following benefits:

  • Supports normal magnesium levels that naturally decrease with age.
  • It is an organic form of bio available magnesium.
  • Non GMO.
  • Gluten and Soy free.
  • Contains magnesium L. Glycine and L. Lysine providing high absorption of this important mineral.
  • The price is reasonable for a high quality mineral supplement.
  • It’s available in a large size bottle containing 240 capsules which is great when you need to take a fairly high daily dose for your needs.
  • Each tablet is 100mg.

 

What Are The Cons Of Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium?

  • The only con I have found is the fairly large tablet size making them a little difficult to swallow, but that could just be me. I need to take them one at a time and swallow with a lot of water.

 

Check Out The Latest Price And Reviews At Amazon 

 

Putting It All Together

I’ve been using Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium for over a year and love the value for money offered in this supplement. It has shown to have beneficial effects on my tight muscles, my energy levels and improved sleep quality.

The price  is great for a quality supplement and Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium doesn’t give me the nasty digestive side effects I experienced from other magnesium supplements. If for any reason I run out of this supplement, I really feel the difference not taking it has on my body. My muscles get tight and I’m definitely not as ‘chilled’.

Please feel free to leave a comment or ask any questions you may have.

Please follow and like us:
error

48 Comments

  • Rebecca April 26, 2018 at 6:20 am

    Hi! This is an informative review of the best doctor’s precribed magnesium. I don’t know much about magnesium as I never take them. At one time, my iron level was so high I had to cut down on some food and vitamin supplement. It’s nice to learn that magnesium has actually a lot of uses in the body and it makes you feel better. Maybe I should explore more about magnesium intake. Thanks for sharing.

    • Ann April 26, 2018 at 8:23 am

      Hi Rebecca 

      Thanks for your comment , I’m glad my review was informative. Yes magnesium is an important mineral, used for so many functions in your body.

  • Paul May 28, 2018 at 6:28 am

    As a health and wellness coaches. Your product review is great. But personally I find that the cons of information for a deficiency in magnesium is not detailed enough and you may like to highlight more on the important of magnesium.

    It’s always nice to share with others on a great products when you benefit from it.

    • Ann May 28, 2018 at 9:26 am

      Hi Paul thanks for your comments on my review of Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium Review.

  • Ronan November 11, 2018 at 11:23 am

    Hi Ann,

    A great article about chronic fatigue. My father suffers this and can get quite tired from time to time. He has been taking a number of different supplements to try and fight it. I have heard of Doctors best Magnesium before but it’s something he hasn’t tried yet. I will be definitely be letting him know about this. Thankyou

    • Ann November 11, 2018 at 12:37 pm

      Hi Ronan I’m glad you found the information in this review useful.

  • Norman November 11, 2018 at 11:28 am

    I’ve heard good things about Doctor’s Best vitamins, and I’m getting to the point where I am putting together my list of supplements to start adding to my dietary regimen. Magnesium is definitely on my list. On doctor’s orders, I took magnesium for about 6 months 5 years ago. It was to help me deal better with anxiety, although I also noticed that I got fewer muscle cramps in the legs during this period. 

    This is a very informative post – I had no idea magnesium played a key role in 600 enzymatic processes…I’ll be checking out Doctor’s Best, not just for magnesium, but for my other supplement needs as well.

    Thanks!

    • Ann November 11, 2018 at 12:36 pm

      Hi Norman tanks for your comments. Yes I find magnesium great for preventing cramps and relaxing your muscles generally. This Doctor’s Best magnesium is the only one that doesn’t upset y stomach.

  • Olonisakin Kehinde November 11, 2018 at 11:30 am

    I believe magnesium is one of macro nutrients needed by plants and so does humans.  I’m happy to learn that it works for nearly all body functioning. If it improves the heart rate,  relaxes muscles, helps nerve functioning. Well, I believe it’s worth taking. And let me quickly say that the capsule size is not a problem…..

    Thank you for this information.

    • Ann November 11, 2018 at 12:34 pm

      Hi Olonisakin

      Thanks for your comments,I hope you found the review useful.

  • Prabakaran November 11, 2018 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Ann!

    A couple of months ago I Purchased magnesium tablets with citrate. This is because I came to know magnesium helps in metabolism and to some extent diabetes is controlled. but unfortunately, I got stomach upsets and found the product useless. I have body cramps and fatigues. I would like to know If diabetes is controlled by magnesium and how to find out if we have a magnesium deficiency? If I find out In have magnesium deficiency I shall try Doctors’s best magnesium.Thanks for your review.

    • Ann November 11, 2018 at 12:27 pm

      Hi Prabakaran I’m sorry you got the upset stomach from the magnesium supplements you bought. This magnesium supplement by Doctors Best is the only one I have been able to take that doesn’t cause that.

  • Wealthfather March 7, 2019 at 4:09 am

    This was a great and simple to follow guide on the best magnesium for absorption. You laid it all out clearly and showed examples that helped emphasize your various points. This guide will be very useful for people like me.

    I would say this is the most comprehensive review I have ever read on Doctor’s Best Magnesium. It’s obvious the pros of  Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium is higher than its cons which is a motivator to trying it out.

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 4:19 am

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by. It can be confusing trying to find the best supplements, there is such a bewildering high selection, making choosing difficult. It’s important to take supplements if needed, but equally important is taking them in a form your body can absorb or you’re simply wasting money. Glad you found this article useful.

  • Babsie Wagner March 7, 2019 at 4:22 am

    I do take supplements, but I hadn’t thought about magnesium, but I was actually pretty happy to see that most of the items on the food list I eat just about every day.  I eat tons of leafy greens every day, and I take a handful of various nuts daily.  I eat salmon and other fish many times a week as well, and avocados probably every other day.  I like to eat healthy, but I always like to keep up on things, and I’m super excited about your website.  It’s very informative.

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 4:28 am

      Hi Babsie thanks for your comments, sounds like your on top of your healthy diet. Yes leafy greens such as spinach and kale are great sources of magnesium. Thanks for the kind words about my website. 

  • rmjia March 7, 2019 at 4:25 am

    Hi, Ann. I have always had tight muscles and not much sleep. I tried with creams as prescribed by doctor but it didn’t work that well. After reading your article, I am wondering if it is caused by magnesium deficiency or due to stress or work related. I will check out this supplement to see if it helps. Thanks for sharing!

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 5:25 am

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m glad you found this review useful and hope Doctor’s Best Magnesium can work for you. 

  • Yormith96 March 7, 2019 at 4:28 am

    Hello there, thanks for dropping this review about the best magnesium to take. I have really learned a lot about magnesium and it’s benefits to our body most especially our muscle to have it’s best functions. Referring to Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium, I think I will get one to check it out as well and see it’s function since u have been using for over year and it’s working for u, I need to know it’s function on my muscle as well

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 5:24 am

      Hi there, Glad to have provided useful information. 

  • Adamu2 March 7, 2019 at 4:29 am

    Thanks for writing out this great article and I must say it’s a must for everyone to read and digest. This article was so informative, I will be ordering the magnesium supplement to relieve me of the cramping pains in my muscles. The price is okay since its working as described. Thanks for giving out this healthy information. 

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 5:23 am

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you found the review of Doctor’s Best Magnesium useful. 

  • Paul March 7, 2019 at 4:33 am

    Dear Ann,

    Thanks a lot for the very thorough and comprehensive review post.

    Recently I read some helpful books and watched Youtube videos related to health & Fitness. One thing I realized is we need to intake vitamin and mineral supplements for better health and I was thinking we don’t need to intake supplement and we can consume it from food but the truth is its not possible in this modern world as you explained it very well.

    I often read about the vitamin C supplement and Magnesium mineral supplement’s importance. The benefits you shared about magnesium are mind-blowing and its a must for everyone.

    Magnesium rich foods list very helpful.

    After reading your review Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium sounds interesting and its on my list and the cost is also affordable.

    Thanks a lot for the helpful and informative review post!

    Paul

    • Ann March 7, 2019 at 5:08 am

      Hi Paul, thanks for leaving a comment again and I’m so happy you are finding my articles interesting….. keep reading please. Yes, some supplements can start getting a bit pricey, but I think this Doctor’s Best High Absorption magnesium supplement is a very reasonable price for a good quality form of the mineral. 

  • Ron March 11, 2019 at 1:11 am

    Well spoken in print perspective of a wellness product. Magnesium is a big part of our healthy life needs. Nicely stated that not all supplements are of the full value of what they are sold to be. In fact it has been documented that most off the shelf products pass into the sewage intact having had no impact at all on the users health. Your personal review off the doctors product will indeed be of value to so many looking to have such wellness products at their disposal. The price is also reasonable. Something that is not usual for such a high recommendation. I wish you success with your site.

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 1:17 am

      Thanks for stopping by and you are correct, there is such a bewildering offering of supplements on the market, it’s difficult to know where to start to ensure you are buying quality supplements at value for money. I only write reviews for supplements I have personally used and found to be useful/quality/value for money/from reputable companies.

  • charles39 March 11, 2019 at 1:21 am

    Being a magnesium deficiency is a new term in that I have never thought we need magnesium in our body but I have been wrong so what I will do is to start looking for those supplements that help the body in being sufficient in magnesium and the good thing is you have given me options that I just need to choose which is the best.

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 1:44 am

      Thanks for visiting my site and for your comment. I hope you found the information useful.

  • GVporras March 11, 2019 at 1:31 am

    Personally I try to eat things that contain magnesium like beans and avocados, but I have been looking for a magnesium supplement, because I know I am not consuming the necessary, and I think that this Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium may be a good alternative for me, I will definitely try it.

    Thank you for this information about this Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium article, very helpful to me.

    Thank you

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 1:42 am

      Thanks for stopping by and I’m glad you found the information on Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium helpful.

  • Olufemi March 11, 2019 at 1:32 am

    Hi Ann,

    Nice review of Doctor’s best high absorption Magnesium. I am happy it helps with your fatigue but I was wondering if Doctor’s best have other mineral and vitamin products. I usually prefer products that have a little of everything than just one mega mineral product. Thanks again for your detailed review.

    Olufemi

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 1:41 am

      Thanks for leaving your comment. I only review products that I actually use and have success with. 

  • tcheck March 11, 2019 at 1:34 am

    Well done  Ann, i am not sure about chronic fatigue.  I do know that a lack of major of any vitamin or supplements can send you into a tale spin. The reason for lack of absorcion  in low price products, could be it’s not being taken to a small enough source. you mentioned you take 600 mg at night  at it settles fine, that sounds like a pure form im glad you brought this product to light, something to keep in mind thanks T.C

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 1:40 am

      Hi and thanks for leaving your comment, hopefully you found the information useful.

  • Samm March 11, 2019 at 2:08 am

    Awsome Ann,It is a sufficiently detailed review of Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium. I know that Magnesium is a mineral that can be found in many foods. So, normally I just practic a “good” diet.Magnesium is an extremely important mineral because it is actually the “manager” of our entire energy metabolism. So, we need enough magnesium in our body. ThanksSamm

    • Ann March 11, 2019 at 2:18 am

      Hi and thanks for checking out my site. Of course it is best to get magnesium where you can from your diet, however some of us, myself included seem to have higher requirements for this mineral and this is where supplementation is useful. 

  • Nate MC May 6, 2019 at 1:42 pm

    Personally, I get plenty of magnesium in my diet, but this supplement seems like a great option for those who don’t. I think if I weren’t getting enough, I would probably use this supplement.

    This review was helpful. I do have one question though, how much does it go for? Do you recommend buying it in bulk (more than one bottle)?

    • Ann May 6, 2019 at 1:49 pm

      Hi there, often it is difficult to get higher levels of magnesium from food alone. I use it to relax tight muscles and prevent leg cramps and higher doses are needed. You can check out the current price by clicking the link through to Amazon. You can buy this magnesium in a 240 tablet size so generally I only buy it one bottle at a time. 

  • smarthomekitchen May 6, 2019 at 2:05 pm

    Hi! I commend you for writing this detailed review about the benefits of magnesium in the body as well the Doctor”s Best High Absorption Magnesium. I really don’t know much about magnesium until I have read your article. I think this product is effective and can make your body healthy with its magnesium. As well, it is affordable compared to other supplements. I really need this for the relaxation of muscles and increase my immune system. Probably, consider this one. Thanks for this info. Wishing you the best! 

    • Ann May 7, 2019 at 4:18 am

      Thanks for stopping by, it’s good to know my article provided useful information. 

  • Kimberleigh May 6, 2019 at 2:05 pm

    Thank you for this very informative review on the types of Magnesium Supplements that are available out there.  I am grateful that I don’t require the additional supplements as my favourite foods are rich in Magnesium, I eat ample supplies of Cashews, Almonds, Avocados, Beans, Leafy Greens and Fish.  I have never come across Dr Best’s supplements, so it is good to know that there are some things to take if ever it becomes necessary.  Thank you.

    • Ann May 7, 2019 at 4:17 am

      Thanks for stopping by and good to hear this review was helpful.

  • Dave Sweney May 6, 2019 at 2:07 pm

    The Doctor’s Best Magnesium supplement seems like it may be an ideal solution for those people that have a hard time with other supplements that cause discomfort for one reason or another. I like that it is organic, it is gluten and soy free, the large size bottle you can order, and lastly that it is reasonable in price.

    Right now I am taking a variety of supplements and there is one that is produced locally in Dubai that is a multi-vitamin and mineral capsule. I have looked at the level of magnesium it offers, and see that it is less than a desirable amount. Therefore I am thinking of adding your recommended Doctor’s best supplement to my pile of supplements I take.

    The many benefits that magnesium offer certainly indicates that I need to make sure I have more than enough, as the environment in the UAE is such (the same holds true for most desert areas, this is not unique to the UAE) that supplements are a good idea.

    A quick question on this move: Is there a chance I could be adding too much magnesium with the other supplement I am taking, i.e. should I seek an alternative for the multi-vitamin and mineral supplement as well? This is an easy switch, there are many alternatives available here. Thanks for your response ahead of time…

     

    • Ann May 7, 2019 at 4:16 am

      Hi there and thanks for your comment. It’s difficult to obtain high levels of magnesium from a multivitamin supplement. I would check the amount (and type) provided by your multi first, then add more if you think it necessary.

      The RDA for magnesium is between 310 and 420mg for an adult. Personally, I’ve taken 800mg per day to help with muscle cramps and to relax tight muscles. This dosage was recommended to me by my osteopath who advised this amount is needed to effect muscle relaxation. As the Doctor’s Best magnesium is 100mg per tablet it is easy to simply add individual tablets to get to the dosage you need. 

  • Fran May 6, 2019 at 2:18 pm

    Thank you so much for this review. I have been suffering from low magnesium for some time now which is evident by my poor sleep and cramping muscles. I didn’t realise there were so many other benefits from it. Really informative article. I didn’t know there were different kinds of magnesium but by the sound of things I have been taking the wrong kind. It was also great to find out what common foods were also a good, natural source of magnesium.  Thanks again.

    • Ann May 7, 2019 at 4:02 am

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, I’m glad you found this review post informative.

  • Daniella May 6, 2019 at 5:46 pm

    Hi Ann,

    Superb article, I really enjoyed the reading!

    I didn’t know that pain muscle can come from a lack of magnesium, good to know! 

    I have knees pain lately, so I thought I would give the Doctor’s Best High Absorption Magnesium a try. 

    It’s so much easier to take the supplement instead of food, but anyway, as you said there is almost no magnesium left in the food because of all the chemical they have. Is there a magnesium in dark chocolate? I am curious about this:)

    Thank you for this excellent post!

    • Ann May 7, 2019 at 4:01 am

      Hi and thanks for stopping by, yes there is magnesium in chocolate along with dairy which some people are sensitive too and a lot of sugar. It seems small amounts of very dark chocolate are nowadays recommended as healthy. 

    Leave a Reply

    Subscribe to our Mailing List

    Get the news right in your inbox!

    Who We Are

    Categories

    Popular Links

    Recent Posts

    Recent Comments

    Follow by Email
    FACEBOOK
    Pinterest

    Popular Topics

    Subscribe & Follow

    Latest Posts

    Amazon Affiliate Disclosure

    Quit Chronic Fatigue is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This is at no cost to you.

    ×

    By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

    The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

    Close